Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Gillan - Future Shock

Future Shock is the fourth album by the British rock band Gillan. Released by Virgin in 1981, it reached number 2 in the UK album chart; this would remain the band's highest placing.
Gillan was a hard rock band formed in 1978 by Deep Purple singer Ian Gillan.

The title is taken from Alvin Toffler's book Future Shock.

The original vinyl LP had a gatefold sleeve, with centre pages.

Gillan - Future Shock mp3

Fan Review: Great Album 4 out of 5
Warning: I am a fan of this man (and the band which, incidentally, in those days also was called "Gillan"), so do not expect me to be objective. Maybe not a "masterpiece" (by Gillan standards only) but still the album rocked like nothing did at the time (which is 1981) and it still rocks! Also, Gillan's lyrics is the wittiest and funniest of all Purple and Purple-derived line-ups. OK, the "classic"
Gillan line-up is here: Ian Gillan (of course), John McCoy on bass, Bernie Tormé on guitar, Colin Towns keyboarding and Mick Underwood drumming. My favourites from this album are "No Laughing In Heaven" (listen to the lyrics, I said), "For Your Dreams" and good old "New Orleans" (on the vinyl, "New Orleans" was the end of side A so you had a chance for a well deserved break).

No comments:

Post a Comment