Monday, December 7, 2009

Stryper - Murder By Pride

Murder by Pride is a forthcoming album by Stryper. The first single for the album, "Peace of Mind", debuted at #27 on on October 24, 2008 and peaked at #1 on February 22, 2009. The track is a cover version, originally performed by Boston. Michael Sweet is currently a touring member of the legendary Seventies band.

Starting May 5, the band announced to release a song per week on iTunes up until July 21. As each new song is released, the previous one will no longer be available until the full album is released. Robert Sweet did not play on the album as the drum parts were provided by Kenny Aranoff. Stylistically, Michael Sweet has commented, that "after years of speaking to fans and hearing comments like 'more guitars,' 'more solos' and 'more screams,' I decided to keep those suggestions in mind as I wrote each song. It was important to me to try to get back to that early sound of STRYPER yet at the same time, to remain relevant today. It's certainly not an easy thing to do, but as I listen to Murder By Pride, I think that was accomplished.

No comments:

Post a Comment